"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and chapter news

Chapter Events & Ceremonies

Chapters share photos and summaries about the induction of their new members, and the different events that they've hosted and been involved in.

2018 2017 2016

New Chapters

As many of the new medical schools approach full accreditation from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), they apply to Alpha Omega Alpha to charter an AΩA Chapter at their institution. These new institutions must then submit documents and host a site visit from AΩA leadership. A recommendation is submitted to the Board of Directors and a new Chapter is granted by a Board vote. In the last four years, the Board of Directors of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has approved new Chapters of the society at seven new medical schools.

We welcome the new AΩA Chapters, their Councilors, Secretary-Treasurers, Chapter members, and newly elected medical students. They are:


Western Michigan University Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine - Epsilon Michigan
Thomas Ryan, MD—Councilor


Cooper Medical School of Rowan University—Gamma New Jersey
Michael E. Chansky, MD—Councilor


University of Connecticut School of Medicine—Beta Connecticut
Kevin Dieckhaus, MD—Councilor

University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville—Gamma South Carolina
Robert Gates, MD—Councilor


Florida Atlantic University Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine—Eta Florida
Michelle Schwartz, MD—Councilor

Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine—Delta Michigan
Pamela Benitez, MD—Councilor

Hofstra North Shore–LIJ School of Medicine at Hofstra University—Nu New York
Jose Prince, MD—Councilor

Recent Councilor Transitions

Each AΩA chapter is overseen by a hard working Councilor. These Councilors are active members of Alpha Omega Alpha who have been appointed by their Deans to represent and lead their Chapters. This responsibility often comes on top of other duties. Our Councilors are dedicated to AΩA and often serve in the position for ten or more years, or until retirement. They oversee the promotion of AΩA to first- and second-year students, the nomination and election process, the promotion of national programs, the Chapter banquet, and other Chapter activities. They work very hard, along with their Chapter administrators, and our Chapters flourish because of them.

We'd like to thank the retiring councilors for all the work that they have done and welcome their replacements!


University of California, Davis, School of Medicine
Councilor: Rachel L. Fowler, MD
Previous Councilor: Brian J. Zink, MD

University of California, Davis, School of Medicine
Councilor: Wetona Eidson-Ton MD
Previous Councilor: Regina Gandour-Edwards, MD

Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Councilor: Timothy C. Wang MD
Previous Councilor: John C.M. Brust, MD


Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine—Alpha Ohio
Councilor: Jonathan M. Fanaroff MD, JD, FAAP
Previous Councilor: James Arnold, MD

Florida State University College of Medicine—Delta Florida
Councilor: Joan Younger Meek, MD
Previous Councilor: Ricardo Gonzalez-Rothi, MD

State University of New York Downstate Medical School—Eta New York
Councilor: Michael Howard Augenbraun, MD, FACP
Previous Councilor: Douglas Lazarro, MD

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine—Alpha California
Councilor: Elizabeth Harleman, MD
Previous Councilor: Lee Atkinson-McAvoy MD

University of Mississippi School of Medicine—Alpha Mississippi
Councilor: Scott Rodgers MD
Previous Councilor: Omar Abdul Rahman, MD


Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons—Alpha New York
Current Councilor: Scott Hammer, MD
Previous Councilor: John Brust, MD

Creighton University School of Medicine—Beta Nebraska
Current Councilor: Lee Morrow, MD
Previous Councilor: William Hunter, MD

Georgetown University School of Medicine—Beta District of Columbia
Current Councilor: Sean Whelton, MD
Previous Councilor: Michael Adams, MD

Morehouse School of Medicine—Gamma Georgia
Current Councilor: Adesoji Oderinde, MD, MSCR, FACP
Previous Councilor: Gregory Strayhorn, MD

Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine—Beta Puerto Rico
Current Councilor: Maruja Santiago, MD
Previous Councilor: Gabriel Martinez, MD

University of Alabama School of Medicine—Alpha Alabama
Current Councilor: Silvio H. Litovsky, MD
Previous Councilor: Stephanie Reilly, MD

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine—Alpha Arkansas
Current Councilor: Lanessa D. Bass, MD, MEd
Previous Councilor: James Clardy, MD

University of Central Florida College of Medicine—Zeta Florida
Current Councilor: Colleen Moran-Bano, MS, MD
Previous Councilor: Maria Cannarozzi, MD

University of Kansas School of Medicine—Alpha Kansas
Current Councilor: Bradley E. Barth, MD
Previous Councilor: Steven Simpson, MD

University of Nevada School of Medicine—Alpha Nevada
Current Councilor: Jennifer M. Hagen, MD
Previous Councilor: William Zamboni, MD

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine—Gamma North Carolina
Current Councilor: Cheryl McNeil, MD
Previous Councilor: Amelia Drake, MD

University of Oklahoma College of Medicine—Alpha Oklahoma
Current Councilor: Lisa Landrum, MD, PhD
Previous Councilor: William Kern, MD

University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry—Zeta New York
Current Councilor: Frederick J. Marshall, MD
Previous Councilor: Heidi Schwarz, MD

Updated on July 18, 2018.