"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Edward D. Harris Professionalism Award

Past Recipients:

2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011

2018 Edward D. Harris Professionalism Award

Download the announcement and checklist


To recognize best practices in medical professionalism education.


Alpha Omega Alpha is seeking nominations for ongoing programs in medical schools or other institutions that represent best practices in the teaching and learning of medical professionalism. Individuals or teams may apply. Programs should:

  • Include medical students, residents, faculty, and other health care team members;
  • Show evidence of effectiveness;
  • Show evidence of sustainability; and
  • Be exportable to other medical institutions

The Award

A one-time award of $10,000 to recognize and honor faculty, programs, and institutions with the best practices in medical professionalism education. Up to three awards will be presented each year.


Programs at medical schools, or institutions affiliated with medical schools, that have a professionalism program that has produced proven outcomes are eligible.
Medical schools that have received the Professionalism Award are not eligible to submit another application for three subsequent years.
All AΩA members included in the nomination packet must have active status in AΩA.


  • Leaders of the programs may be asked to attend a medical professionalism conference sponsored by AΩA to present their programs. Expenses will be paid by AΩA.
  • Attendees of the conference may be requested to submit a Chapter for possible inclusion in a monograph to be published by AΩA.
  • Submission Requirements

    The application must include:

    1. The completed checklist (Download here)
    2. Description of the program, including:
      • Purpose and background
      • Categories of participants
      • Length
      • Syllabus
      • Data to substantiate the program
      • Implementation details
      • Effectiveness measures
      • Sustainability measures
      • Exportability measures
    3. Biosketch(es) of the program leader(s)
    4. A letter of nomination from the Dean of the medical school (maximum two pages), commenting upon the program’s effectiveness and describing how it enhances professionalism among medical personnel.
    5. All materials must be submitted as either a single PDF or a set of PDFs in the format listed on the checklist. All materials must be submitted in one e-mail. Incomplete submissions will not be considered.
    6. Only one nomination per institution may be submitted to the National Office.
    7. Award winners must submit a W-9 form prior to issuance of the award check.

    Nominations should be emailed to Libby Appel at professionalismaward@alphaomegaalpha.org by October 1, 2018.

    Awardees will be notified December 3, 2018.

Updated on March 28, 2018.