"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Past Distinguished Teachers

2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Download the announcement

To recognize outstanding educators in the field of medical education.

The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the education of medical students by four faculty members at LCME-approved schools of medicine: two educators from basic science, preclinical departments, and two from clinical disciplines. The recipients will be recognized at the annual Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Awards Dinner.

The award
Four recipients will each receive a $10,000 award. In addition, each recipient's nominating institution will receive $2,500 for teaching activities. If a school has an AΩA Chapter, $1,000 will be awarded to the Chapter. Recipients’ travel expenses related to attendance at the AAMC Awards Dinner will be reimbursed by AΩA. Recipients must submit a W-9 form to the AΩA National Office prior to the issuance of the award check.

Nominees will be vetted by a review committee composed of past award recipients. Medical schools whose nominee receives a Distinguished Teacher Award will not be eligible to submit another nominee for three subsequent years.
Each nominee's application, bibliography, and curriculum vitae must be submitted by April 6, 2018, to:

Geoffrey H. Young, PhD
655 K Street NW
Washington DC 20001
Email address: gyoung@aamc.org

For information about submitting a nomination, visit the AAMC's page:
Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards

Updated on December 11, 2017.